- Becoming a Correctional Officer
- Careers at Public Safety
- Find A Facility
- Find An Incarcerated Individual
- Sex Offender Registry
- Background Check
- Public Safety Units
- Public Information Act
- Policies and Procedures
- Americans with Disabilities Act
- Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA)
Metropolitan Transition Center
Incarcerated Individual Phone & Debit Account Information
ConnectNetwork is GTL’s authorized deposit and account management portal. With several different deposit methods available, ConnectNetwork is the quickest and most convenient option to fund a correctional account.
AdvancePay® Prepaid Telephone Accounts
To accept calls from an incarcerated individual at this facility, we recommend you create an AdvancePay® prepaid telephone account. Prepaid calling works by placing money on your phone number so that when your incarcerated individual calls you the funds are deducted from the balance on your prepaid account.
Offender Phone DEBIT Accounts
ConnectNetwork PIN Debit (Offender Phone) accounts allow you to make deposits to an offender’s PIN debit phone account.
**Please note- fees may apply to all deposit methods. Specific terms are provided when making a deposit.**
All visitors to a Correctional Facility must clear a metal detector. Please be mindful of clothing that may contain metals as it may result in the inability to clear. In the event that a visitor is unable to clear the metal detector, their visit may be denied.
Contraband ~ Criminal Violations
Pursuant to Maryland's Criminal Law Article, Sections 9-410 and 9-412 through 9-417, it is unlawful for a person to possess, deliver, or possess with intent to deliver contraband in a place of confinement. Such items include but are not limited to telecommunication devices, contraband to effect an escape, weapons of any type, alcoholic beverages, controlled dangerous substances, and tobacco.
It is unlawful for a person to deposit or conceal a telecommunication device in or about a place of confinement with the intent that it be obtained by a person detained or confined.
Violators are subject to arrest and will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. Upon conviction, violators are subject to imprisonment from periods of 3 to 10 years, fines of $1,000 to $5,000, or both.
Always check the DPSCS home page for additional weather related or visiting hour changes, if any.
General Population and Hospital PopulationVisitation schedule alternates weekly between In-Person Visits and Video Visits, allowing one visit per week.
All Visits are scheduled by sending an email to MTC.INMATEVISITATION@MARYLAND.GOVTHE FOLLOWING INFORMATION WILL BE NEEDED AND MUST BE INCLUDED IN YOUR EMAIL:
- Detainees First and Last Name
- Detainees SID number
- First and Last Names of each visitor.
- Duration of in-person visits are 30 minutes.
- You will receive a response with available dates and times to choose from.
- Please allow 24-48 hrs. for a response.
- General Population: Thursday- Sunday, CHILDREN ARE ALLOWED, Maximum of 3 Visitors (number includes children).
- Hospital Population: Saturday or Sunday, NO CHILDREN, A maximum 2 Visitors.
- Visits are scheduled a week in advance.
Download MICROSOFT TEAMS APP from the app store and follow the steps provided in the app.
Duration of visit is 30 minutes.
- In-order to visit a detainee the detainee must submit a visitation card with family and friends AND complete addresses. Address must match Maryland State Identification Card for approval of visitation.
- Children (18 years of age and younger) visiting the inmate must be immediate family to either the inmate or the visitor and must be accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who is on the inmate's visiting list.
- A visitor 16 years of age and older must present photograph identification.
- All visitors shall be fingerprinted using a single digit fingerprint scanning device (Web ID software). If the Web ID system indicates a "hit" (which only indicates that the visitor has fingerprints on file for either criminal or non-criminal purposes), the visitor will be provided with a letter which explains that the visitor did not clear the fingerprint identification process and what is necessary to proceed. After the visitor submits the required information, the warden or designee will advise the visitor (in writing) as to whether or not their visiting privileges have been approved or disapproved.
- If visitors cannot clear the metal detector, they will be denied entry. Nothing may be brought into the institution except as authorized by the warden or designee. Any item brought into the institution in a manner other than authorized is contraband, and the person bringing the item into the institution is subject to criminal penalties.
954 Forrest Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
Go to Map
Phone: (410) 230-1452
Fax: (410) 385-1049
Debora A. Darden
Chief of Security:
Chukwuemeka C. Nkwocha
Year Opened: 1811
Visitor Dress Code
All visitors, to include children, must dress appropriately for visitation. All clothing must cover from the neck to the kneecaps.
The following types of clothing are not allowed to be worn:
- tube tops, tank tops, or halter tops
- see-through clothing
- mini-skirts, mini-dresses, shorts, skorts, or culottes (at or above the kneecap)
- form-fitting clothes such as leotards, spandex, and leggings
- clothes that expose a person's midriff, side, or back
- tops or dresses that have revealing necklines and/or excessive splits
- coats, jackets, shawls and scarves will be placed in an appropriate area.