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9-1-1 SURCHARGE REMITTANCE PROCEDURES 
 
 
 
Authoritative Procedures 
 
Authorized under the Maryland Public Safety Article, pursuant to §1-310 and §1-311, each 
telecommunications service provider that provides “9-1-1 accessible service” must: 
 

 Act as a monthly collection agent for Maryland’s 9-1-1 Surcharge fees (State Fee 
and County Additional Fee – currently $0.25 State and $0.75 County Additional Fee 
equaling $1.00 total per subscriber bill); 

 Remit all money collected to the State of Maryland Comptroller of the Treasury on a 
monthly basis (due by the 23rd of each month); and 

 May retain an amount equal to 0.75 percent of only the State portion of the 9-1-1 
collected fees to cover the expenses of billing, collecting, and remitting the 9-1-1 
fees (Not applicable to the County Additional Fee). 

 
Pre-Paid Telecommunication Service:  ‘‘Prepaid wireless telecommunications’’ services 

means a commercial mobile radio service that: 1) allows a consumer to dial or access 9-1-1; 

2) must be paid in advance; and 3) is sold in predetermined units that decline with use in a 

known amount.  The Prepaid Wireless E 9-1-1 Fee is collected by the seller from the 

consumer for each retail transaction in Maryland.  A retail transaction occurs in Maryland if: 

1) the sale or recharge takes place at the seller’s place of business located in Maryland; 2) the 

consumer’s shipping address is in Maryland; or 3) no item is shipped, but the consumer’s 

billing address or the location associated with the consumer’s mobile telephone is in 

Maryland.  The Prepaid Wireless E 9-1-1 Fee is 60 cents per retail transaction.  The 

Prepaid Wireless E 9-1-1 Fee is not subject to Maryland sales and use tax.  Sellers of 

prepaid wireless telecommunications services are required to report and remit to the 

Comptroller all Prepaid Wireless E 9-1-1 Fees collected by the seller.  A seller shall report 

and remit all Prepaid Wireless E 9-1-1 Fees collected by the seller to the Comptroller in the 

manner provided for remitting sales and use tax.  Please see Maryland ‘‘Sales and Use Tax 

Return’’ Form 202, to report and remit this fee.  

 
 
Remittance Form Procedures 
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Each company providing 9-1-1 accessible service in Maryland shall remit 9-1-1 Surcharge 
funds by completing the form titled “Emergency Telephone System Trust Fund Report” as 
indicated below: 
 
For each County and Baltimore City: 

 Number of subscribers remitting the fee for that month 
 The Rate (pre-populated – currently $1.00 from each subscriber)  
 The Total amount collected  for that county(both the State fee and County additional 

fee) 
 Collection Allowance - The total allowance retained from the 0.75 percent 

Administrative Fee (applicable only on the State portion of the collected fee) 
 Remittance - The total amount remitted, less the administrative fee 
 County Share – The total amount of the collected County additional fee (currently 

$.075) 
 
For each Collection Total  

 Total of each column 
 State Fee - total State fee collected minus the collection allowance 
 County Fee - total county fee collected – should match total of “county shares” 

column) 
 Month Ending – identify the month of the collected fees (one month per form) 
 Total Remittance – month’s total remittance (should match total of “Remittance” 

column) 
 Remittance Last Month – last month’s remittance   
 Percent Difference – percentage of remittance difference from this month and last 

month’s remittances (can reflect a plus or minus change) 
 Comments Area – explain any Percent Difference exceeding 10% or enter other 

applicable comments  
 
All remittance forms should be signed (certifying accuracy) with the check made out to 
“MD - Comptroller of the Treasury” (please indicate “9-1-1 Trust Fund” on the memo/note 
line) and sent to the following address: 
 

State of Maryland-Comptroller of the Treasury 
           Revenue Administration Division 
     Revenue Administration Center 
       P.O. Box 207 
    Annapolis, MD 21404-0207 
 
Please contact Karen Hall, Accountant for the Emergency Number Systems Board; at 410-
585-3023 should you have any questions. 


